Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

If you were a Mice are Nice member, and haven't got the Forum Refugee badge - PM Crittery to sort this out for you!

Worried about handling babies!

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie to the site, I have kept fancy rats for years, but after I lost the final girl from my last group :( , I decided to have some mice instead, as I have wanted some for years.

I am now the new mummy of four lovely girls, a mum and her three daughters. There names are Blossom, Gertie, Enid and Sylvie and they are gorgeous (and a bit mental).

I desperately need some advice though as a week after I brought the girls home it became obvious that Gertie and Enid were pregnant (they started to look like golf balls).
I'm so annoyed as they were only about 7-8 weeks so far to young really.
They have both had there babies though, and are doing brilliantly. Nanny Blossom and Auntie Sylvie have stayed with them, and they are all helping and looking after the babies together.

I haven't touched the babies or the nest as I am terrified of upsetting the mums and them harming the babies. I have managed to get a good look at them regularly though, there are 14 in total :shock: and they all look lovely and healthy.
The adults haven't been with me long enough to trust me yet, which doesn't help. We have have only got to the hand sniffing and taking treats from me stage as I have been trying to leave them in peace as much as possible because of the babies.
They are still quite skittish but they seem completely happy and relaxed when they are eating and playing etc. They must be nervous though as they relocated the nest recently.