Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

If you were a Mice are Nice member, and haven't got the Forum Refugee badge - PM Crittery to sort this out for you!

Are these foods okay?

I'm new to mice and wonder if what I'm giving is okay, would be grateful for advice and to know if what I'm feeding is what's best for the girls please.

I feed science selective mice and because it isn't a grain but more like a biscuit I also have a bob martins, natures nibble grain and honey stick hanging in their cage. I've got bob martins egg biscuit bars too and have access to crickets and wax worms, although wax worms are fattening to reptiles and frogs, so I haven't given any to the girls ATM.
Do I still need to give them chicken for the occasional snack or will the crickets suffice? I currently kill the crickets and offer them with my fingers but should I just put three in the cage to let the girls catch them themselves? My main concern is that crickets can nip and I don't want the girls noses nipped at any point.

I just want to make sure I'm not giving too much 'junk' food and also don't want to compromise their health by giving too much of a good thing.
Thanks for any advice and do say if there is anything I'm doing wrong. :)

Comments

• _Artistwolf11_Artistwolf11 Legacy
    Mealworms are the same as wax worms, right?
    Well, if they are, they can be fed three each every day. They are healthy for them :) Mice are omnivores and do eat crickets and stuff in the wild, but I hate to say it but... Fancy mice are kind of slow to catch on sometimes. I would feed dead crickets and mealworms, but of course you can just try it and see what happens :)
    Sorry I can't really give you answers to your other questions. Could you maybe tell us what the crude protein level is in the food, and what the ingredients are? Or give us a link with that information on it?
  • _Artistwolf11_Artistwolf11 Legacy