Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

If you were a Mice are Nice member, and haven't got the Forum Refugee badge - PM Crittery to sort this out for you!

Unusual Color?

Hello

Ive been raising fancy mice for 2 years now, I recently lost my male so I went to the local petsmart and brought home an agouti (?) Variegated male. With my blue longhair female, they had a litter of 6 babies, 2 didnt make it. I was expecting agoutis and maybe black, but after coat started coming in, I have a black self female, an agouti varie longhair female, and 3 what were once black babies, now are fading. They have a white undercoat, and dark tips to their fur. All three are longhair, 2 boys and 1 girl.

I only have a basic understanding of mice genetics, i did some googling and I was wondering if its the chinchilla gene, maybe pearl or silver grey.. any breeding suggestions to reproduce the gene? Should I breed the daughter back to her father? She is a berkshire-has a white stomach with a headspot.

I will try to upload better pictures, but I'm using a smart phone and it keeps saying most my photos i took are too large to upload.

Thanks in advance for any info!
20160321_134830-1.jpg
1221 x 1221 - 812K

Comments

• KawaiiKawaii Lemming
    You shouldn't be breeding petstore animals, regardless of your  knowledge of genetics, but even more so if you "only have a basic understanding of mice genetics".

Proud owner of 2 chinchillas and a dwarf hamster

(chins for the win!)

If I'm not active I have probably forgotten my password (again)....

• CritteryCrittery Overlord
    Hi, in all fairness I agree with the above. It's not a good choice to breed from pet store animals, as they come from uncertain backgrounds and you'll have a lot of extra health concerns to worry about. It's really not fair on the animals and will lead to extra heartbreak for you.